Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
OBJ i2c lowlevel, PUB i2cstop — Parallax Forums

OBJ i2c lowlevel, PUB i2cstop

bozobozo Posts: 70
edited 2007-10-02 07:48 in Propeller 1
Hi, I'm trying to get a DS1307 to reliably recover from an abnormal termination and since I'm new to i2c, I am struggling.

The abnormal termination that I'm deliberately making is simply a tap on the F10 key to reload/restart the prop in the middle of a continuous loop to read the DS1307.
Regular as clockwork, after a couple of restarts the device 'hangs'.

I'm using object i2c lowlevel, and there's a comment in the middle of the code for i2cstop that looks like it might be a clue...

PUB i2cStop 'SDA goes LOW to HIGH while SCL is HIGH
dira[noparse][[/noparse]_SCL]~ 'Make SCL pin an INPUT - Pullup resistor makes this HIGH
dira[noparse][[/noparse]_SDA]~ 'Make SDA pin an INPUT - Pullup resistor makes this HIGH
'Fixes Glitch in Read Mode during abnormal termination
dira[noparse][[/noparse]_SCL]~~ 'Drive SCL pin LOW
dira[noparse][[/noparse]_SCL]~ 'Make SCL pin an INPUT - Pullup resistor makes this HIGH

can anyone shed some light on what the nature of this glitch is?
and specifically how the code here fixes it?

When I said above that the device hangs, I mean that when i2cstart is called, it never returns (probably waiting forever for SDA/SCL pins to go high).

I'm making 9 repeated calls to i2cstop, followed by a call to Initialize, then a call to DevicePresent which contains the aforementioned call to i2cstart which never returns, and I have SDA and SCL pins pulled high by external 10k resistors.

Or am I stumbling over a typical newb trap? Any clues appreciated.

Cheers,
MarkW

Comments

• hippyhippy Posts: 1,981
    edited 2007-10-01 22:34
    Take a look at the BASIC_I2C_Driver.spin from the Object Exchange. There's some code in there which should unjam I2C devices -
    PUB Initialize(SCL) | SDA              ' An I2C device may be left in an