Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
DMX — Parallax Forums

DMX

hjansenhjansen Posts: 2
edited 2007-10-02 16:50 in Propeller 1
I would like to implement DMX ( RS-485) via propeller. Any hints what i will need and how to implement it ?

Tanks !

Comments

• BradCBradC Posts: 2,601
    edited 2007-09-27 10:26
    I'd suggest you might need a fairly tightly coded bit banging transmit loop, and a balanced line driver. One port pin should be all you need.

Depending on what you want to do, it should be relatively easy. I used to bit bang DMX on a PIC, and that was a much slower processor than a single
    Propeller COG.
  • hjansenhjansen Posts: 2
    edited 2007-09-27 10:36
    Thanks for your quick answer but i have only some slight ideas what you are talking about because im very new to this topic ...

Could you provide some sample code that helps me understanding ?

I want to build a small Light Controller with 12 channels that i can fade in/out tap some lights ...
    So i want to control a Dimmerpack via DMX ...
    Maybe much much later in version 5 i will want to add some more channels and maybe support for some more lights maybe also some intelligent lights. But this is far in the future and i would want to start with something more simple at the beginning
  • GadgetmanGadgetman Posts: 2,436
    edited 2007-09-27 10:39
    I believe that someone has already implemented a DMX Receiver on the Propeller.

http://forums.parallax.com/forums/default.aspx?f=25&m=152364&g=152445#m152445
    (Should be some useful stuff in that thread if you want to do a transmitter)

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Don't visit my new website...
  • BTXBTX Posts: 674
    edited 2007-09-27 11:44
    Hi hjansen.

Here's a DMX object
    http://forums.parallax.com/forums/default.aspx?f=25&m=132052

It's done by Timothy D. Swieter, it is so simple, and it works fine !!
    The driver also has a little schematic to use it directly with a SN75176 RS485 driver/reciever.

Good luck.