Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller Newb questions — Parallax Forums

Propeller Newb questions

DgswanerDgswaner Posts: 795
edited 2007-09-11 19:26 in Propeller 1
Ok I haven't had the prop for even a week so I'm a Newb, I'll have plenty of time to prove I'm a noob later.

I have the prop. demo board, what is the Max current an I/o pin can handle.

I want to drive some 5v relays, so I'm guessing I'll have to use transistors, will the 5v, pin be sufficient to handle 4 relays at once? or do I need to incorporate an additional power supply.

Can some one provide a link or spin code for controlling a servo, or preferably a demo on how to connect and operate, I've looked at the object exchange and downloaded the 4 servo controller as well as the 32 servo controller, but I want a strip down version of it, I want to figure out how it works and what is required, being new to all of this the many layers of "features" are a little hard to plow through. It just seems odd that what can be done on a stamp in 2 line takes a hundred for the prop. I know thats not comparing apples to apples but for a beginner it seems a bit much.

thanks

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
A complex design is the sign of an inferior designer. - Jamie Hyneman, Myth Buster

Comments

• deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2007-09-09 07:27
    I should recommend you:
    - read the Data Sheet
    - thoroughly read the first 4 Chapters of the Manual
    - work yourself through the Educational Examples.

Believe me - it will pay! Do advanced things later.
  • ALIBEALIBE Posts: 299
    edited 2007-09-09 11:20
    deSilva