Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need suggestion for TFT LCD interface. — Parallax Forums

Need suggestion for TFT LCD interface.

sccoupesccoupe Posts: 118
edited 2007-09-06 19:38 in Propeller 1
I have been tearing apart the Spin examples from the site and am learning a lot pretty quickly. I have some code that Ive been messing with for a few days and getting some pretty exciting things from the 2.5" Parallax TFT LCD screen through the TV.spin object. I need to find a 1.5" to 1.8" screen that I can mount in my own case. There are plenty out there but im unsure of the interface to get because most of them do not take composite video. I am new to the video stuff and dont really know what to get. Do these things use serial natively or is it something different all together. Do they use VGA meaning I have to re-write my code? I'd like to get more colorful with the display and should have the Hydra book tomorrow, so hopefully that helps. Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Jason

Comments

• sccoupesccoupe Posts: 118
    edited 2007-09-05 23:46
    Im finding things like...

MPU interface mode: 8080/8-bit
    LCD controller: HX8310 or equivalent

Interface: parallel 8080 or 8088

LCD controller: NT7525

shakehead.gif·Greek to me.
  • deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2007-09-06 07:01
    Reading the first 200 pages of the Hydra book will give you a lot of enlightenment!
    edited 2007-09-06 17:04
    So, it looks like the 8080, 8 bit interfaces are probably the way to go? From what I gather from the Hydra book, the VGA mode uses an 8 bit parallel output mode.
    edited 2007-09-06 17:26
    Scoupe, I do not want to sound unhelpful, but it would be a very long story to tell. I seriously should suggest you start wtrh something simpler and come back to your CRT project a little bit later.....