Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
5v Devices - level Shifter Module — Parallax Forums

5v Devices - level Shifter Module

Areal PersonAreal Person Posts: 197
edited 2007-09-07 17:12 in Propeller 1
Hi,

Can I use this module to provide Bi-Directional level shifting to my propeller
project so that I can interface 5vdc components ?

http://www.futurlec.com/Mini_Logic.shtml

It looks like a good price. turn.gif
Thanks,
-Areal

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I have a tree growing out of my head, but

what do you expect ? I'm a programmer.

Comments

• Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi)Phil Pilgrim (PhiPi) Posts: 23,514
    edited 2007-09-05 18:40
    Yes, but remember that all eight lines are either inputs or outputs, depending on the state of the T/R pin. And that pin is not brought out to the edge on the Futurelec board, but jumpered. So it's not truly bi-directional: it's either one direction or the other.

-Phil
  • deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2007-09-05 18:43
    They should be ashamed to offer something like this ..
  • GadgetmanGadgetman Posts: 2,436
    edited 2007-09-06 11:50
    Either use the resistor described in other threads in this forum, or use the 74LC245 chip alone.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Don't visit my new website...
  • Ken PetersonKen Peterson Posts: 806
    edited 2007-09-06 12:09
    Here's a suggestion. Suppose you want to put a byte on outa[noparse][[/noparse]0..7], and you want it to be "open collector".

Normal way:
    dira[noparse][[/noparse]0..7]~~
    outa[noparse][[/noparse]0..7] := byte

To drive your outputs as "open collector" with pullups:
    dira[noparse][[/noparse]0..7]~
    outa[noparse][[/noparse]0..7]~
    dira[noparse][[/noparse]0..7] := !byte <- notice the inversion

when dira is 1, the output is pulled low. Whenever dira is 0, the output is high impedance.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔

The more I know, the more I know I don't know.· Is this what they call Wisdom?
    edited 2007-09-06 12:11
    oops...correction...