Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Stepper motor control — Parallax Forums

Stepper motor control

HansMHansM Posts: 6
edited 2007-09-05 03:49 in Propeller 1
Hi,

I am looking for a method to drive three steppermotors simultaneously. In the past I used Basic Stamp for controlling a stepper (using the ULN 2003 approach from the Stamp manual), but now want to change over to Propeller. I just started with Propeller, so all is new to me!

Thanks,

Hans

Comments

• SkogsgurraSkogsgurra Posts: 231
    edited 2007-08-29 10:01
    Hello Hans!

You will be pleasantly surprised when you find out all the possibilities this little power-frugal, low-cost, fast multiprocessing chip can do!

I have been using it for several months now. And there is a constant smile on my face. Wife and friends say that I am a lot nicer now when I use the Propeller. But complain that I spend too much time with it...

Tips: Use the ProtoBoard, can't beat that. And plunge right into assembler as soon as you are through the Spin tutorials. Assembler really makes the propeller spin fast while Spin makes you very productive in HMI matters. Also, there are lots of applications for whatever you need. Just browse the forum. There is a "stickie" section where most of the goodies are.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
  • m.r.b.m.r.b. Posts: 36
    edited 2007-08-29 11:43
    I am a relative newbie to propeller myself... This is the first big 'meaty' project that I am doing...

I think I can REALLY help you out there.... I am working on that very project (3 axis stepper motor motion controller) NOW, for what I am doing...
    I am 70% through completing my version of it.... Initial testing for 'modules' completed so-far is showing VERY promising results!!!

{biggest problem is finding time to do things!!!!}

I am using the prototype board as the basic hardware, with a few additional components added...

The project will:-