Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Question regarding Stampworks experiment #11: basic LCD demonstration — Parallax Forums

Question regarding Stampworks experiment #11: basic LCD demonstration

almost_humanalmost_human Posts: 7
edited 2007-08-27 22:33 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hello,
I'm an electronics hobbyist and new to microcontroller programming. Currently I'm working on Stampworks experiment #11. The experiment is a simple program to control the 2x16 parallax LCD display. I read and understand most of the source code but i have a few questions. The time duration argument of the PULSOUT command being used for the Enable pin is sometimes 3 and sometimes 1. The book offers no explaination on this. I would like to know why sometimes 3 is used and sometimes 1 is used. I know it has something to do with instruction execution time stated in the datasheet of the Hitashi HD44780U LCD driver but i come up with a different number for the PULSOUT duration argument when calculating instruction execution time of the LCD.

Also another question I have is, when initializing the LCD by instruction for 4 bit interface, the datasheet says to pause for more than 100us but the code doesn't pause for that. Why doesn't the code pause for this and how will this affect the initialization of the LCD?

I hope someone that's familiar with programming the LCD can clear this up for me. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• FranklinFranklin Posts: 4,747
    edited 2007-08-26 14:30
    I haven't read the data sheet or activity but my guess is that 100us is such a short time to the stamp that it is absorbed in the time it takes to formulate the commands needed until the next one to the display

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Stephen
  • Capt. QuirkCapt. Quirk Posts: 872
    edited 2007-08-26 17:40
    It's simply easier to for the LCD to recieve the code instructions by sending enable over a greater time period.