Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Passing multiple parameters to a COG running assembly. — Parallax Forums

Passing multiple parameters to a COG running assembly.

m.r.b.m.r.b. Posts: 36
edited 2007-08-24 14:50 in Propeller 1
I am still fairly new to SPIN/PROP. chip.... My background is 10+ years PIC (including 18Fxxxx), 5 years before that Z80 CPU & Z80 core MCU's etc...
So... don't shoot me down in flames etc...

Quick question...

I have started a new COG with an assembly program in it, for speed of execution...
(tranlated SPIN I believe·can only change states of pins at best about 29KHz(ish), because its a translated language!!!)

You can·use PAR to pass ONE parameter register for the ASM program....
I have already managed to pass a single LONG to an ASM program, through PAR!!!

I however want to pass more than one 32 bit register to the ASM program....

If·I have multiple·LONG variables·in my parent object, declared sequentially...

IE:-

VAR
·· long x· 'This is the first thing I want to pass to ASM
·· long y· 'This is the second thing I want to pass to ASM
·· long z· 'This is the last thing I want to pass to asm...

·· long OtherThing 'Nothing to do with the ASM program
·· long SomethingElseAgain

In ASM, could I read like this???· (PAR is @x in ASM 'call'....)

·· rdlong fred,PAR
·· rdlong bert,PAR+1
·· rdlong tim,PAR+2

The silly names are just to get the idea across....

Regards M.R.B.

Comments

• Graham StablerGraham Stabler Posts: 2,507
    edited 2007-08-21 12:11
    Lesson three shows this:

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=647408

your basic idea is correct but the implementation is different
  • AleAle Posts: 2,363
    edited 2007-08-21 12:14
    PAR can contain a pointer to a table of longs, words, bytes whatever you need, and that is passed to asm:

CNT
    ptr = 0x7ff0

PUB blabla(..) ..

long[noparse][[/noparse]ptr] := first_val

long[noparse][[/noparse]ptr+4] := second_val

(..)

cognew (@init, ptr)

DAT

init mov tab_ptr,PAR