Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
help - maintaining a clock without using a new cog — Parallax Forums

help - maintaining a clock without using a new cog

bozobozo Posts: 70
edited 2007-08-21 17:42 in Propeller 1
Hi all, I'm a newbie here and I am so impressed with how quickly I've been able write code for this chip that would have taken me weeks with a pic ... but I need·a little help with the following: I want to maintain an internal clock variable that can keep time (for a timestamp) to the millisecond for periods of up to several hours (for a datalogger).

But I've run out of cogs·so I·want to run this function alongside other code in an already-used cog. And I don't really want to have to use waitcnt since I want to be doing other jobs in the cog at the same time.

Any suggestions?

Is there a way to use the internal counters in a cog to periodically (every mS) trigger a method that bumps my timestamp without interfering with other activity in the cog? - or am I still thinking the old way? Would it be better to bump the variable, then perform the other duties I want the cog to do, then use waitcnt until the next millisecond has passed? The only problem with this approach is that I don't know how long the 'other' tasks will take and I don't want to miss updating the timestamp variable, since there will be other cogs accessing the variable to write the timestamp to my logger records ...

it seems wasteful to dedicate a cog to such a humdrum job - any ideas appreciated

cheers,

MarkW
Melbourne AU

Comments

• AribaAriba Posts: 2,685
    edited 2007-08-21 01:43
    If you have a free pin, you can use both counters of a cog to do what you want.
    Counter B outputs a 1kHz Signal on this free pin, and Counter A counts this 1ms pulses.
    Set FREQA to 1 and you get in PHSA register your MilliSecondCountVariable.
    PHSA is a 32bit register, so you can count up to 4 Million seconds !

Andy
  • LawsonLawson Posts: 870
    edited 2007-08-21 06:08