Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
When did B+ become Vdd or whatever it is? — Parallax Forums

When did B+ become Vdd or whatever it is?

Fred HawkinsFred Hawkins Posts: 997
edited 2007-08-21 17:29 in Propeller 1
I am getting old. Even Wikipedia doesn't remember b+.

Comments

• ratronicratronic Posts: 1,451
    edited 2007-08-20 23:07
    I was a consumer electronics technician for 20 some years, I remember B+ in more ways than one!!!

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Fix it if ain't broke·
    D Rat

Dave Ratcliff· N6YEE
  • RDL2004RDL2004 Posts: 2,554
    edited 2007-08-20 23:50
    I think it went away when transistors took over from vacuum tubes.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Rick
  • BergamotBergamot Posts: 185
    edited 2007-08-21 01:24
    I think I'm more like a C-
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-08-21 03:16
    I think the A battery was for the filaments and the B battery was for the plate and maybe the screen as well. Does anyone remember what the other two filaments were for? I think one was for accelerating the electrons that got through the grid and the last one was for mopping up secondary emission electrons from the plate.
  • parts-man73parts-man73 Posts: 830
    edited 2007-08-21 03:48
    I agree with Fred, What's wrong with positive and Negative, or simply + and -

VSS and VDD took alot of getting used to.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Brian

uController.com - home of SpinStudio
  • Fred HawkinsFred Hawkins Posts: 997
    edited 2007-08-21 04:02
    I am now officially a geezer: http://www.antiqueradio.org/bsupply.htm
  • hippyhippy Posts: 1,981
    edited 2007-08-21 04:33
    parts-man73 said...
    But is "+V" with "-V" the same as 0/2*V, or 0/V, or -V/0/+V ?

Negative and positive suggest 'relative to something else' ( an implied zero ), and in a two rail supply that doesn't really make much sense.
  • Fred HawkinsFred Hawkins Posts: 997
    edited 2007-08-21 04:46
    hippy said...
    parts-man73 said...