Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Questions about CTR and sound synthesis — Parallax Forums

Questions about CTR and sound synthesis

mrgoshmrgosh Posts: 23
edited 2007-08-31 20:43 in Propeller 1
I have rtfm, and am still not exactly clear on the uses / abilities of CTR(a/b). Is it that for each cog, there is a CTR (and thus, 16 CTR registers total?) or is it that there is a CTR(a/b) register for the prop chip as a whole, and it can be assigned to work with a cog?

Needless to say, I am new to the prop chip, but an averagely experienced programmer. My end goal would be to have a propeller chip act as a polyphonic synthesizer. What I am working on now is having 3 to 8 different tones generated by one chip, played out of 3 to 8 different speakers (pins 0 - 7). I am noticing though that no matter what I try to hack together from the examples, or the simple attempts I have made on my own, that once I get to CTR overlaps, a second register address rewrites the first regardless of cog assignment (example: (pin 0, cog 0, ctra, 800 hz); (pin 1, cog1, ctrb, 900hz); (pin 2, cog2, ctra, 1000hz); i hear 900hz and 1000hz, pin 0 is silent).

So, my guess: there is something I am missing, especially based on this line from the manual:

Each cog has two identical counter modules (A and B) that can perform many repetitive tasks. pg 204

Help?

-M

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-08-20 04:41
    Each cog has a pair of CTR registers. Look at the diagram of the Propeller on the Parallax website.

Each cog can generate two different frequencies, one using each counter. The output of the counter is a square wave pulse stream which may or may not be what you want. If you haven't looked at it yet, download AN001, the application note on the counters.