Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Quick question on accessing an object's (public) variables (how?) — Parallax Forums

Quick question on accessing an object's (public) variables (how?)

bulkheadbulkhead Posts: 405
edited 2007-08-20 02:40 in Propeller 1
I have several long variables in an object that I want to access from the main program. How is this done? When I do "object.variable" it gives me "Expected subroutine name." I browsed through the PEK lab on objects and didn't see this.

Also, in my object I am trying to write a "start" method, but it gives me "expected a unique subroutine name." When I call the method something else (like startUp) it works fine. How can I get my method to be named "start" like all of the other objects in the library?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I'm new to the propeller!

Comments

• Ken PetersonKen Peterson Posts: 806
    edited 2007-08-19 03:48
    to access an object variable:

object#variable

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔

The more I know, the more I know I don't know.· Is this what they call Wisdom?
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-08-19 06:03
    Ken,
    That only works for constants. There is no way to directly access variables in another object.

You have two ways ...

1) You can create GET and PUT methods in the object with the variable and call those from elsewhere. Obviously, GET returns the value of the variable and PUT sets the variable from its parameter.

2) You can create an "address of" function that returns the address of the variable, then refer to the variable using that address. If Z is set to the address, LONG[noparse][[/noparse] Z ] can be used to access the variable.
  • deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2007-08-19 06:56
    3) WRT your start-issue. There is already a name START in your object; this can also be a variable deeply burried in e.g. the DAT section, or an assembly label!

The rules are relatively simple: NO OVERLOADING! NO SHADOWING!