Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Voltage across LED — Parallax Forums

Voltage across LED

Ol' GeoOl' Geo Posts: 30
edited 2007-08-14 23:17 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi,

I'm studying What's a Microprocessor? course to refresh my ol' brain.

One thing in the text bothers me. On page 75 (84 on pdf), it says the voltage across a LED is ALWAYS 1.6 volts if Vdd is applied to 5 volts. But, my DMV measured the voltage to 2.0 volts. Why different? Is it because of the newer LED's on market?

Thanks.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Ol' Geo
Retired Software Engineer

An oscilloscope is a window of unseen electronic world. - GM

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-08-13 22:53
    I don't know the specifics of your setup, but the forward voltage of an LED (Vf) depends on the materials involved which usually·determines the color.· You can look at an LED datasheet for this data, but red LEDs usually have a 1.7V forward voltage.· Some others have a Vf = 2.1 (like green? yellow?).· Blues and whites have the highest Vf ... 3 something.
  • Ol' GeoOl' Geo Posts: 30
    edited 2007-08-13 23:16
    Thanks, Mike
  • Steph LindsaySteph Lindsay Posts: 767
    edited 2007-08-14 17:03
    Thanks for pointing this out, Ol' Geo.· We have put·this·on our revision list for the next edition of "What's a Microcontroller?".· I hope you are otherwise enjoying it.· Please feel free to email me directly with any errata you find:editor@parallax.com.

Just FYI, there is an errata sheet of known issues available for download here:

http://www.parallax.com/dl/docs/books/edu/WAMv2.2Errata-v1.4.pdf

Stephanie Lindsay
    Editor, Parallax Inc.

Post Edited (Steph Lindsay (Parallax)) : 8/14/2007 7:32:50 PM GMT
    edited 2007-08-14 17:47
    Glad to help, Stephanie. I think I found one earlier. Will report via email.

I don't see any errata sheet for WAM 2.2 in the link you posted. I already have WAM 2.2 text in pdf format.

Thanks.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Ol' Geo