Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Crystalfonts 4 x 16 help — Parallax Forums

Crystalfonts 4 x 16 help

TCTC Posts: 1,019
edited 2007-08-10 23:39 in Propeller 1
Hello all,
I just bought a display from Crystalfonts. But I am having trouble gitting it to work. I am using "Improve LCD Demo" from Steve Almond. I changed LINELENGHT from 20 to 16. when the demo runs I get jerbish on the display, also only lines 1 & 3 are lit. as the demo starts up you can see all 4 lines activate, but then 1 & 3 are on. I am still learning to program in SPIN so please be easy on me. I have included the datasheat for my display.

thanks
TC

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
We all make mistakes when we are young………That’s why paste is edible!

Comments

• deSilvadeSilva Posts: 2,967
    edited 2007-08-08 04:22
    The display offsets for line 3 and 4 are $10 and $50 respectively - this is typical for 4x16 displays; it is different from 4x20 displays, where theses offsets are $14 and $54.

Change that in your driver...
  • TCTC Posts: 1,019
    edited 2007-08-08 04:53
    That did not do anything. I dont think the driver is Initializing my display right. I am going to try to make my own driver and see what happen.

TC

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    edited 2007-08-08 15:07
    TC said...
    I am going to try to make my own driver

This is an excellent idea!

But I also post a driver by Marcel Majoor, which I configured for a four line display in nibble mode. Works fine!

Edit:
    I think I also changed the control pins
      CRs        = 13                                           ' Connected I/O for RS signal
      CRw        = 14                                           ' Connected I/O for RW signal
      CE         = 15                                          ' Connected I/O for E  signal

The original driver had 8,9, and 10, which is more logical... but you can of course use whatever pins you like

Post Edited (deSilva) : 8/8/2007 3:30:19 PM GMT
    edited 2007-08-08 23:54