Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
I would like to know if the propeller is the right tool for my project. Many t — Parallax Forums

I would like to know if the propeller is the right tool for my project. Many t

jmbertoncellijmbertoncelli Posts: 4
edited 2007-08-01 23:41 in Propeller 1
Hello,
I am new here and I do not have a lot of embedded programming and electronic skills but I think that I am a good programmer with more than 25 years of expertise with platforms like IBM mainframes, Windows, Linux,...
My wife has MS and she cannot walk anymore and her arms are weak, she has·an electric wheelchair but our house was not designed for a person with disability.· In fact she can navigate from one room to another but she has a lot of trouble when the space to navigate is not large enough... In fact there·is enough space to make the move but the motion control must be very precise and that is why she cannot make it.· I decided to help her as much as possible and I got an idea.· My idea is to add an embedded motion controller that could help her to drive the wheelchair when the available space around the chair required a more precise motion control.· I have already made a small prototype using the LEGO Mindstorm NXT but I have now to decide what could be the best target embedded microcontroller platform for this project.· I shall be able to control motor(s) speed and position, IR and US sensors for objects detection (virtual bumpers), Light sensor(s) "yes, I want to follow the 'line' to make the room to room navigation less complex", RFID reader to read tag on the floor "line(s) junction information to make the·room to room navigation less complex", a Compass sensor and a Tilt sensor.· I do not know yet if I can just build on top of her wheelchair or if I have to build a new one from scratch...
·
I would like to know if you think that my project is feasible based on the Propeller(s) or·if there is something better that I haven't yet found or think about?
·