Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
How to system.out.print/debug to computer? — Parallax Forums

How to system.out.print/debug to computer?

bulkheadbulkhead Posts: 405
edited 2007-07-29 01:46 in Propeller 1
I'm trying to debug some of my code and I want to add print statements, like the "System.out.print()" on the Javelin or DEBUG function with the BS2. Is there a built in function like that or must it be done manually? I'm looking at the BS2 functions object and it appears that it is done manually there, but are there other ways? Thanks.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
I'm new to the propeller!

Post Edited (bulkhead) : 7/28/2007 8:27:38 PM GMT

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-07-28 20:37
    What do you want to use for the output?

If you want to use a serial LCD, download the "Debug LCD" object from the Object Exchange
    If you want to use a TV monitor, you can use the tv_text object from the Propeller Tool library
    If you want to use a VGA monitor, you can use the vga_text object from the Propeller Tool library
    If you want to use a PC, download the "PC Debug Test & Blink LED Demo" object from the Object Exchange

Include the appropriate object in an OBJ statement in your program and use it for the display. Most of these
    objects use the same names for their output routines with the possible exception of some using OUT() while
    others use TX(). These usually have routines for displaying single characters, zero-terminated strings, decimal
    numbers, hex numbers, and sometimes binary numbers. Check the source code and demo programs for
    examples.

I've often used the Parallax 2.5" TV display and tv_text for debugging while the "real program" used a VGA display.
  • bulkheadbulkhead Posts: 405
    edited 2007-07-28 22:52