Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
When to keep a cog running? — Parallax Forums

When to keep a cog running?

Bob ReynoldsBob Reynolds Posts: 5
edited 2007-07-11 21:10 in Propeller 1
I am an experienced microcontroller programmer and have recently made a commitment to switch to the propeller chip. I build control electronics for exhibits at a science museum.

I seem to be able to write code which will do what I want it to - until I start launching those routines into their own cogs. I've had several problems which seemed to be cured by inserting an endless repeat loop at the end to keep the cog alive - even after that cog should have completed its job. In other cases, like the one I'm trying to debug today, a code module in one cog will only run properly if the main code module (presumably in cog 0) is allowed to terminate.

I'm convinced I'm not running out of cogs. I'm always using a start method which first invokes a stop method.

I realize this all sounds rather vague. I can provide specific code snippets to further illustrate my problems, but I have the feeling I'm missing something fundamental. Can anyone give me some rules-of-thumb about keeping cogs alive or allowing them to terminate?

Thanks for your time,

Bob Reynolds
Lead Electronics Developer
Oregon Museum of Science and Industry

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-07-11 16:07