Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Nordic nRF2401 RF 2.4GHz Tranceiver — Parallax Forums

Nordic nRF2401 RF 2.4GHz Tranceiver

bulkheadbulkhead Posts: 405
edited 2007-07-10 08:26 in Propeller 1
I'm just getting started with the prop and I'm looking to use these RF modules to set up a communication link between my PC and prop. I noticed there's an object class written on the object exchange page already. I have a few questions about using these RF modules for anyone who has used one or who just has prop experience.

1) Is all I need to get a working link two of these modules from store.qkits.com/moreinfo.cfm/TXRX24G?

2) Must pins 30 and 31 be used to send/receive data on the propeller, or can other pins be used? If so, does it interfere with programming? Does the module need to be disconnected when programming the prop?

3) If I were to connect the tranceiver on the PC end through the serial port, is it just a simple connector/adaptor fix? Or are there other components necessary?

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-07-07 20:54
    1) You can't use these modules directly for communications between a Prop and a PC. They're designed for clocked synchronous data, more like SPI than anything else. The logic levels and power supply are compatible with the Prop, but you'll have to construct some kind of interface for the PC.

2) Pins 30 and 31 are normally used for a logic level asynchronous serial programming interface. Once programming is complete, these pins can be used for other things, but it's normally easier to dedicate them to some kind of asynchronous serial port. These RF modules are not compatible with the programming function.