Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Aliased variables — Parallax Forums

Aliased variables

TwimTwim Posts: 10
edited 2007-07-06 13:56 in Propeller 1
Hello,
··· I am new to the propeller chip, and wondered if someone would be kind enough to help with a problem:

I have declared an array of bytes (byte· mylist[noparse][[/noparse]32]·) which i would like to reference in my spin program using
different names such that..
myalias[noparse][[/noparse]0] would reference the value at mylist[noparse][[/noparse]0]

Does the spin language allow the same memory location to be referenced using· different names/ labels
if so how would i declare it?

byte··mylist[noparse][[/noparse]32]
byte·myalias = @mylist

<Subject added by moderator>

Post Edited By Moderator (Paul Baker (Parallax)) : 7/5/2007 5:00:32 PM GMT

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-07-05 00:32
    Spin does not allow aliases, but it does have provisions for pointers. The best you could do would be to declare a word or long and assign it the address of your array like:
    var word myPtr
          byte myList[noparse][[/noparse]32]
    pub hereWeGo
          myPtr := @myList
          byte[noparse][[/noparse]myPtr] := aValue
          byte[noparse][[/noparse]myPtr][noparse][[/noparse]index] := moreValue

• cgraceycgracey Posts: 14,133
    edited 2007-07-05 01:23
    We have accidentally left some info out of the documentation that makes this possible, in a limited sort of way.

When you declare VAR's, you can specify a·count-size using 'varname[noparse][[/noparse]size]'. If you put 0 (zero) inside the brackets, it will make a zero-sized variable which will have the same address as the next-declared variable of the same type (byte/word/long).

For example, in the case of:

VAR byte b1[noparse][[/noparse]0], b2[noparse][[/noparse]0], b3[noparse][[/noparse]0], b4, b5