Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Hi! Newguy with PropRPM — Parallax Forums

Hi! Newguy with PropRPM

Beanie2kBeanie2k Posts: 83
edited 2007-07-03 02:04 in Propeller 1
Hi,

I am new to the Propeller, and just received my PropRPM board yesterday. Haven't fired it up yet, but am looking forward to doing so soon, and experiencing what appears to be a fairly steep but fun learning curve. My goal is to eventually use the board as part of an electric fan controller for my truck, which will adjust the fan speed based on coolant temp, air inlet temp (I have a supercharger, so that needs to be closely monitored) transmission oil temp, boost PSI, and probably some other variables. I chose the Propeller because the sensor information comes from a wide variety of sources (digital logic, SAE J1850, RS-232 to name a few) so I thought that using a cog to handle the peculiarities of each signal type would be a good application. Anyway, looking forward to chatting with you folks and doing some interesting things with the Prop.

Comments

• RinksCustomsRinksCustoms Posts: 531
    edited 2007-07-01 04:06
    Funny you should mention that...

http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=656112

I will be of assistance as much as you ask me/personal message me. I'm a few months into the prop, but not as familiar with it as some of the prop gods that roam the forums. I'm currently having fun roll.gif tooling around with a Graphical User Interface for that PROpeller DFI in the thread above. It'll be able to plug into the·video jack in the back of my ancient Panasonic flip-out a/v reciever and accept keyboard/mouse input as well.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Definetly a E3 (Electronics Engineer Extrodinare!)
    "I laugh in the face of imposible,... not because i know it all, ... but because I don't know well enough!"
  • Beanie2kBeanie2k Posts: 83
    edited 2007-07-01 07:32