Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Newbie: Using 24V wheelchair gear motors with the propeller? — Parallax Forums

Newbie: Using 24V wheelchair gear motors with the propeller?

Carlos VillegasCarlos Villegas Posts: 8
edited 2007-06-22 21:28 in Propeller 1
Dear colleagues,

I, once again, turn to this invaluable resource to get information on what is a very new topic for me, robot building. FYI, my background is software.

I bought the propeller educational kit to get my hands on the hardware of this incredible chip a while back.

My goal is to build a little robot for tough terrain (i.e. easy there, no so tough, just the backyard) inspired from the book "Build your own all -terrain robot" by Brad Graham and Kathy McGowan.

Here's my immediate question (but please feel free to give advise to somebody that needs it and is listening/reading at %110):

Once I buy a pair of 24-Volt gear motors,

a) Do I need to get an H-bridge for the gear motors?

b) How do you get a PC application to control the gear motors (i.e. is the H-bridge and/or propeller chip involved)?

As you can see I'm a little lost but I'm eagered to learn and willing to do practically anything to reach my goal. Took and electronics class last semester and have a soldering station.

Any help will be immensely appreciated.

Sincerely,
Carlos Villegas

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-06-17 05:20
    a) You need some kind of switching circuit to control the power to the motors. If you want them to be reversible, you need something like an H-Bridge. You can do this with relays as well as with switching transistors (if you're not in a hurry). If you want to control speed, you need something like a transistor switch. If you want speed control and reversibility, you really need an H-Bridge.