Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller architecture and instantaneously changing methods in a cog. — Parallax Forums

Propeller architecture and instantaneously changing methods in a cog.

RichardFRichardF Posts: 168
edited 2007-05-29 09:39 in Propeller 1
I am just starting to learn about the the Propeller. It is my understanding that in order to send a new method to a cog that is alreading processing a method, I must first stop the cog then send the new method.·Can someone tell me how many clock cycles are "lost" (no processing taking place) during the stop cog then ·start new method process?·Us humans can stop and start a new process with essentially no lost time, I am interested in how close the Propeller chip can come to emulating the human process of listening to a command simultaneously while carrying out a process, then shifting to a new process based on that command with no lost time. For example, if·I am·reading out loud·at 100·words per minute and you tell me to slow to 50, I can do that instantaneously. I don't think the Propeller can do that, am I wrong?

Thank you,
Richard

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-05-28 23:05