Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Sorry it took so long! (NAVCOM AI UAV/UMV code and schematics here) — Parallax Forums

Sorry it took so long! (NAVCOM AI UAV/UMV code and schematics here)

M. K. BorriM. K. Borri Posts: 279
edited 2008-08-20 20:46 in Propeller 1
67.15.245.144/portfolio/navcom_ai/

Sorry it took so long to post, but they said I had to wait until I got my diploma -- those were supposed to get printed last week, they got printed today, we had graduation saturday and were handed envelopes with a blank sheet of paper inside...

This system turns any RC vehicle into a smart thingy (except helicopters: we don't have a RC helo, so we couldn't try it out there) and was tried on a rc car, sailboat and plane. I am including schematics on how to put stuff together, and source code for everything. In theory this will work with only GPS but you SHOULD add at least a compass, then you can add accelerometers or wind sensors etc. if you want better positioning precision. Note that this is the single-gps version, double gps is still being worked on.

I use the Prop as the CPU, sensors are generally handled by Picaxe 08Ms because they're cheap & have an ADC, but you can use basic stamps if you want (for the compass and accelerometer for example, those are from Parallax), I am including the source code for the sensors too, and BASIC is BASIC. If you think that using NMEA for sensors is awkward -- yes you get less bandwidth, but it was easier to code for and this way you can plug and unplug sensors on the fly (which was especially good for the boat, sometimes one sensor would get splashed & stop working for a few seconds, couldn't allow it to freeze everything else)

Yay! I'm officially an engineer! Does anyone want to hire me? smurf.gif

67.15.245.144/portfolio/navcom_ai/