Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need to increase the AMP — Parallax Forums

Need to increase the AMP

cameroncameron Posts: 33
edited 2007-05-21 13:30 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hi I am new to electronics please can someone help me. I am sending a 5 volt signal out of one of my pins but I think it needs more AMP's can someone tell me what compont I can use for this and how do I do the calculation for the component I need.

Thanks for your help I am new to this

Thanks Cameron.

Comments

• UnsoundcodeUnsoundcode Posts: 1,532
    edited 2007-05-12 00:41
    Hi cameron, a few more details of the type and quantity of load would help decide as what to recommend.

Heres a link describing the use of a transistor as a current amplifier with an inductive load, its well worded and worth keeping in your documents folder for future use, even if it does not suit your present needs.

http://forums.parallax.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=37701

Jeff T.
  • cameroncameron Posts: 33
    edited 2007-05-12 01:05
    Hi Jeff,

This is some more information about the circuit.

When I test the VSS with no component attached the AMP is about 1130 something like that but when I connect my component it drops to about 85 AMPS. So I think this is too much of a requirement for one of the chips pins however it is 5 volts. So what type of transistor do you recommend. I hope I got the reading right it is on 200 mA on the multimeter.

Thanks for your help with this I am new with electronics.

Cameron.
    edited 2007-05-12 01:18
    Hi cameron, NEVER use a multimeter set to measure current· and connect it directly to a pin on the Stamp from the pos or neg. That is a short and will likely damage the Stamp

In fact using the current range of any meter requires a greater level of caution than other functions.

What is the·component you are wanting to connect to the output pin and what is its voltage and current rated at ?

Jeff T
    ·
    edited 2007-05-12 01:28
    Hi Jeff,