Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
The BS2 as a fuel injection ECU? — Parallax Forums

The BS2 as a fuel injection ECU?

WynandWynand Posts: 39
edited 2012-11-20 20:48 in BASIC Stamp
I am a newbie, but having said that have some experience with programming and electronics. I have an idea to use the Basic Stamp·2 as a Electronic Control Unit to·drive·a fuel injector on a small gasoline engine. I would have to interface it with a (home built) air mass sensor, RPM sensor, and the·fuel injector itself.·I was thinking that the process control would run something like this :

·· Check engine running
···Wait for valve open indication (crankshaft at right position to inject fuel)
·· Read Air·mass sensor (to determine how long to open fuel injector)
···Read·engine load sensor (to determine if more fuel is needed)
···Look up fuel injector timing according to mass sensor data and engine load (data table made up from physical experiments with engine to get·stoichiometric data)
···Send pulse to fuel injector

I have most of the stuff in my head, and am trying to get it onto paper, so that I can start to fabricate and engineer.

So sorry, I have a BSP2, with the board of education.

I would appreciate to hear from the community, and I welcome any and all suggestions, comments and criticism

Comments

• allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2007-05-11 15:41
    It does only cycle at 2000 Basic Instructions Per Second, AND there's no interrupts, AND it's "single-tasking".

If you can live with all of that, you can do it, but I doubt you can live with all of that. An ECU is kind of a real 'real-time' application. Probably requires WAY more processor speed than the BS2 has.

The SX52 processors can be used, though.
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-05-11 15:50