Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Convert day no. to day name? — Parallax Forums

Convert day no. to day name?

DroneDrone Posts: 433
edited 2007-05-06 20:21 in Propeller 1
I need to convert a day-of-week number (1-7) to a day-of-week name string (Mon-Sun).

I could write a long conditional statement to do this (IF ELSEIF... perhaps) but

is it possible to use LOOKDOWN (dayNo: "Mon", "Tue", "Wed", "Thu", "Fri", "Sat", "Sun")

to return the day name directly?

If not, what about using LOOKDOWN's returned index number to take multi-character strings out of an array.

Any suggestions appreciated - I'm new to spin.

David

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-05-05 12:57
    You could use the LOOKDOWN, but the values would have to be STRING("Mon"), etc. which returns the address of the string "Mon".

Spin is a lot like C as far as strings are concerned. They are represented by their addresses and they are stored in byte arrays and zero-terminated.
    There are no string variables nor string arrays.
  • AribaAriba Posts: 2,686
    edited 2007-05-05 17:32
    I think you have to use LOOKUPZ not LOOKDOWN(Z). Lookdown gives the index in the list.
    But you can also define the Stringnames in the DAT section and calculate the pointer. (every name has 3 characters 1 Zero, so the offset is daynumber * 4.
    ' Version 1
    PUB getDayName(n) : stringptr
      stringptr := lookupz(n : String("Mon"),String("Tue"),String("Wed"),String("Thu"),String("Fri"),String("Sat"),String("Sub"))

'Version 2  
    PUB getDayName(n) : stringptr
      stringptr := @daynames + n*4

DAT
    daynames      byte "Mon",0,"Tue",0,"Wed",0,"Thu",0,"Fri",0,"Sat",0,"Sun",0

• Chris SavageChris Savage Parallax Engineering Posts: 14,406
    edited 2007-05-06 01:08
    Drone,