Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Gernal timing question: Spin vs assembly execution speed — Parallax Forums

Gernal timing question: Spin vs assembly execution speed

bkrazbkraz Posts: 2
edited 2007-04-28 02:26 in Propeller 1
Hello everybody.· I am just getting started with the Propeller and have a question that hopefully someone will find very easy to answer.· I am running this program:

CON
· _clkmode = xtal1 + pll16x
· _xinfreq = 5_000_000
· Pin = 1··············································································
················································································
PUB Start
· dira[noparse][[/noparse]Pin]~~·································································· ' Make Pin Output···
· repeat··············································································
··· outa[noparse][[/noparse]Pin]~····························································· ' Clear I/O Pin
··· outa[noparse][[/noparse]Pin]~~·································································· ' Set I/O Pin

With an oscilloscope on Pin 1, I see the pulse time is about 10us (microseconds) on and 10us off.· This is pretty slow compared·to the 80MHz system clock.· Where are all those thousands of clock cycles going for each pulse?

When I run the following assembly program I get pulse widths·down into the nanoseconds!· Is Spin really THAT much slower than assembly?· Thanks for any suggestions you might have.· -Ben

con
· _clkmode = xtal1 + pll16x
· _xinfreq = 5_000_000
pub Toggle_Main
· cognew (@Toggle, 0)
dat
······················· org······ 0
Toggle
············· mov···· dira,·· Pin··············· 'Set Pin to output
············· mov···· Time,·· cnt··············· 'Place the value of cnt into Time
············· add···· Time,·· #9················ 'Add 9 to time
:loop
·······
············· xor···· outa,·· Pin··············· 'Toggle Pin
············· xor···· outa,·· Pin··············· 'Toggle Pin
············· jmp···· #:loop