Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Questions and compliments — Parallax Forums

Questions and compliments

dividebyzerodividebyzero Posts: 1
edited 2007-04-24 02:11 in Propeller 1
I just got my HYDRA and I am very impressed. For 200 bucks you can't go wrong. I have been reading the book non-stop since friday. I am a big fan of Lamothe stuff (got his first Tricks of the game programing gurus) and I am really glad he is writing about hardware stuff these days. I have been afraid of hardware my whole life, but this book is making it fun learning about the·propeller chip and the·hydra.·I have a billion questions, so if someone can answer them, I just want to ask a few right now.

1. When is the sram card coming out?
2. I want to make my own game cards, what's a good, cheap PCB company?
3. I have been reading over the demos in the book and the assembly language stuff, but its more or less a work of genius and I am not really an assembly programmer, I was wondering is there any plan to have a class on the·hydra in the future? Maybe at parallax or nurve?
4. I read in the book somewhere (can't remember where) that you can overclock the hydra? How much and will it hurt it if I do?

-- dbz

Comments

• AndreLAndreL Posts: 1,004
    edited 2007-04-22 06:42
    Thanks a lot, yes the book was a ton of work as are all books. As far as you questions go:

1. Very soon, I am writing the docs right now, the cards are coming back from manufacturing next week, so I will put the cards for sale for pre-order even if they aren't done very soon.

2. Well, depends where you live, but pcbfabexpress is really good.

3. I don't have the facilities for that here, but parallax does have developer events, if they do another one this year and there is enough interest, I would be willing to come and do a talk, maybe develop a graphics engine from
    the ground up during the class???