Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Got my first BS1, need simpale projects to get me on my way. — Parallax Forums

Got my first BS1, need simpale projects to get me on my way.

Tech-ManTech-Man Posts: 100
edited 2007-04-20 19:54 in BASIC Stamp
Ok so i bought my first BASIC Stamp 1, a Project Board, ·i know i should have got a BS2.. but·this was cheap and im just geting started and plane to (if im any good with this) advinchnaly get some other chips (want to try out one of them wirless RF/BT chips or an RFID reader).

So i have made·an led blink, made some weard fquincy noises with a Pazo spk, and deuged a mesige, pretty cool at first to think "hay i just wrote my own code and it worked!!" then its just boring and i want to learn more.

I also got two Continues rotation Servos so i built my own robot thing similer to the BOE found some sample code for the servo, but for some resion it dident seem as though they were as strong as they should be, Do i power them with there own supply? Also i can't get them both to work at the same time.

Basicly what im asking is, i cant find any good .pdf's on the BS1 they all seem to be for the BS2.. i found like all the symbals POT,Pause,Goto, ext and what they do. But nothing where they show you how to use more than one at a time. I may be just looking in the rong spot. If there are any out there·i cant wait to read them so drop me a word. Thanks!

Hears my· home made·version of the BOE-bot

DSCF1403.jpg

Had to make a PVC hubs to atach the wheels, which are from a Barbie bike i got·for .50 cents (cheap is good!!!)

DSCF1408.jpg

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
There are no Undo buttons in life.

Post Edited (Tech-Man) : 4/20/2007 2:48:14 AM GMT

Comments

  • UnsoundcodeUnsoundcode Posts: 1,532
    edited 2007-04-20 02:59
    Hi Tech-Man, thats a good looking BoE Bot clone, try typing BS1

    in this search engine it should pull up a few links to some of the information your looking for.

    ·http://search.parallax.com/

    Jeff T.

    Post Edited (Unsoundcode) : 4/20/2007 3:07:45 AM GMT
  • metron9metron9 Posts: 1,100
    edited 2007-04-20 03:35
    Could you run this code on the BS1 for me and tell me how many seconds it takes to run.
    Debug screen should show START then END after about 4 seconds I think.
    I don't have a BS1 but the code should work. I am really looking for just 1 time through but this should be close enough for what I need.


    ' {$STAMP BS1}
    ' {$PBASIC 1.0}
    
    
    
    OUTPUT 0
    
    SYMBOL dbyte = B0
    SYMBOL temp  = B1
    SYMBOL temp1 = B2
    SYMBOL fncount = B3
    
    dbyte=255      'the byte to shift out
    DEBUG "Start",CR
    FOR FNcount=1 TO 100
    GOSUB shifto
    NEXT
    DEBUG "END",CR
    END
    
    Shifto:
    temp=128
    shiftolp:
    temp1 = dbyte & temp
    IF temp1 > 0 THEN bithigh
    HIGH 1
    LOW 1
    LOW 0
    temp=temp/2
    IF temp<>0 THEN shiftolp
    RETURN
    bithigh:
    HIGH 0        'extra command to make both high and low the same amount of time
    HIGH 0
    HIGH 1
    LOW 1
    LOW 0
    temp=temp/2
    IF temp<>0 THEN shiftolp
    RETURN
    
    

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Think Inside the box first and if that doesn't work..
    Re-arrange what's inside the box then...
    Think outside the BOX!
  • Tech-ManTech-Man Posts: 100
    edited 2007-04-20 04:00
    Ya i saw your post last night and i tryed the code and it did noting, But i tryed the one you just posted you were just about right on. From the time it showed Start to the time it showed End it was about 4 Sec.· its pretty hard to watch the clock and the Debug at the same time.

    By the way what dose this pice of code do?

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    There are no Undo buttons in life.
  • RDL2004RDL2004 Posts: 2,554
    edited 2007-04-20 04:16
    Here is a link to the BS1 app notes from the original manual. There are lots of good BS1 examples. I don't think you can buy the printed manual anymore.

    BS1 AppNotes


    Also check out the Nuts and Volts columns, there's some BS1 stuff in some of those.

    Nuts and Volts downloads

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    - Rick
  • metron9metron9 Posts: 1,100
    edited 2007-04-20 13:15
    Thanks Tech-man.

    I use a clock that I can hear tick when doing timing like that. Then I count the tick while watching the debug screen..

    Welcome to the forums as well.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Think Inside the box first and if that doesn't work..
    Re-arrange what's inside the box then...
    Think outside the BOX!
  • Tech-ManTech-Man Posts: 100
    edited 2007-04-20 19:54
    Great idea that would have worked much better than the digital one i chose to use.

    Ok erlyer i minchend that the servos were runing pretty slow and vary weak. So i pluged the red wire into Vin insted of Vdd and it made them so much better, is this a good thing i thoght that pin was only for d input.

    Well im still pluging away at this, its really fun even though i only know like ten difrent comands so far.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    There are no Undo buttons in life.
Sign In or Register to comment.