Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
FullDuplexSerialPlus Object question — Parallax Forums

FullDuplexSerialPlus Object question

RontopiaRontopia Posts: 139
edited 2007-04-15 21:22 in Propeller 1
ok i know this a total noob question but;

Im reading the propeller education kit lab "objects". as most of you know this lab uses the object FullDuplexSerialPlus object that comes with the lab. Im afraid that its the text/lab is moving rather fast through some of the details of how the FullDuplexSerialPlus object actaully works.. im sure many of you are quite skilled with this object and understand its parameters well. I have many questions being new.

{{
───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
File: FullDuplexSerialPlus.spin

This is the FullDuplexSerial object v1.1 from the Propeller Tool's Library
folder with modified documentation and methods for converting text strings
into numeric values in several bases.

───────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────────
}}

VAR

· long· cog···················· 'cog flag/id

· long· rx_head················ '9 contiguous longs
· long· rx_tail
· long· tx_head
· long· tx_tail
· long· rx_pin
· long· tx_pin
· long· rxtx_mode
· long· bit_ticks
· long· buffer_ptr
····················
· byte· rx_buffer[noparse][[/noparse]16]·········· 'transmit and receive buffers
· byte· tx_buffer[noparse][[/noparse]16]·

PUB start(rxpin, txpin, mode, baudrate) : okay
· {{
· Starts serial driver in a new cog

··· rxpin - input receives signals from peripheral's TX pin
··· txpin - output sends signals to peripheral's RX pin
··· mode· - bits in this variable configure signaling
·············· bit 0 inverts rx
·············· bit 1 inverts tx
·············· bit 2 open drain/source tx
·············· bit 3 ignor tx echo on rx
··· baudrate - bits per second
···········
··· okay - returns false if no cog is available.
· }}

· stop
· longfill(@rx_head, 0, 4)
· longmove(@rx_pin, @rxpin, 3)