Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Nokia LCD Progress — Parallax Forums

Nokia LCD Progress

jkroylancejkroylance Posts: 12
edited 2007-04-14 21:10 in Propeller 1
[noparse][[/noparse]Continued from http://forums.parallax.com/forums/default.aspx?f=25&m=174598]

I've been playing with this LCD and code for it, and I tried myself to merge the SPI routines into it and use them instead of the Spin ones. After driving myself nuts for several hours trying to figure out why the LCD works with the Spin code and not with SPI, I stumbled across something: If you issue the very first command to the LCD using the Spin shiftout code (even if it's not a valid command), then start using the faster SPI code, the LCD works fine, and is much faster. Only problem is I can't stand wasting that amount of space on code that's used just once. Attached is an archive of the version I got to work... This is my first attempt at working with propeller programming, so please excuse the sloppiness of the code. I commented alot out as I was tweaking things trying to figure out why it wouldn't work. Hopefully it still makes sense.

Nokia Test.spin (top object file)
-NokiaLCD.spin
--SPIEngine.spin

The part I was messing with is in NokiaLCD.spin toward the bottom of the file in InitLCD, there's a SendSpcCommand() call which calls the Spin shiftout routines to send a $00 to the LCD, then everything's SPI after that. My LCD works fine like this, but if you change SendSpcCommand() to SendCommand() (or even just comment out the whole line), the LCD is unresponsive.

Anyone have any ideas??

Comments

• JelloJello Posts: 9
    edited 2007-04-12 15:20
    Hi jkroylance,
    Thanks for the info. The·whole nokia lcd thing·seems to be a dead topic in here. It's not fresh and exciting·enough I guess. Oh well. Some topics (and people) are like that.