Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
how do i find the unique id to my rfid tags? — Parallax Forums

how do i find the unique id to my rfid tags?

chiltonchilton Posts: 3
edited 2007-04-11 03:40 in General Discussion
I apologize for the supper noob question but this is my first time using rfid technology. I am making a device that uses two rfid tags (world tag 50mm), read by a rfid reader, then the signal is sent to a basic stamp 2 module lf, via a basic stamp supercarrier which will then use one of two reed relays to trigger a remote control. In a sense making a touchless remote control. I understand the basic coding I am just unsure how to obtain the unique id for each id tag.
I understand that the carrier board will connected to a computer using the serial connection however once the carrier is connected to the serial how do you communicate with it? Also do you have to compile the basic 2 stamp before loading? If so with what? Any and all help would be very very appreciated.

Comments

• stamptrolstamptrol Posts: 1,731
    edited 2007-04-10 12:19
    Chilton,
    The card reader will spit out a string whenever the tag comes within range. Within that string will be the unique identifer for the tag. The Stamp will be programmed (by you) to get the id and do what you want with it. Most of the work will be done by the SERIN command.

Once programmed, the system will be stand alone. You can feed the serial string from the reader in the programming port (pin 16) or leave it available and use another pin (0 to 15) as serial input from the reader.

You can have a look at the docs for the reader online.

This, BTW, will be a neat project and others will be interested in your efforts.

Cheers,

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Tom Sisk

http://www.siskconsult.com
    ·
  • chiltonchilton Posts: 3
    edited 2007-04-10 20:28