Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Too stupid for waitpeq (in assembler)? — Parallax Forums

Too stupid for waitpeq (in assembler)?

Nick MuellerNick Mueller Posts: 815
edited 2007-04-08 17:00 in Propeller 1
Hi!

I'm a new pilot using his propeller he got 3 days ago, so sorry for that dumb question.

I'm trying to read some serial data. Therefore, I need to synchronize to the signal's clock (the device has a clock and a data line). Tried it with SPIN, but it is too slow (timing is in the 10µs-range). So I have to do it in assembler.
The assembler code is started in a new cog (works) and loops forever sampling data and signaling that new data is available.
Got it working so far that I can pass parameters and communicate with an other cog.
For debugging, I'm writing state-information with wrlong that the monitoring cog displays.

But now, I'm completely stuck (pun intended) with the waitpeq-command. It works with SPIN, but not with assembler.

Here is the line where the cog waits forever:
waitpeq 0, #1

I have also tried:
waitpeq 0, #%0001

I'm waiting for a LOW on P0. I have verified with a scope that I do get a signal (with all the highs and lows) directly at the chip.

What am I doing wrong?

Thanx,
Nick

Comments

• BTXBTX Posts: 674
    edited 2007-04-07 23:12
    Hi Nick.
    I'm not completely good in assembler but.....

Are you sure that P0 is an input ?
    The waitpeq in asm must be (waitpeq State, <#> Mask). The prop manual talk about 'State' like a register, did you try something like this ?

waitpeq reg,#1

reg long 0

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Regards.

Alberto.
  • Paul BakerPaul Baker Posts: 6,351
    edited 2007-04-07 23:45
    Hi Nick, Alberto has spotted your problem, you were trying to use a literal value in your destination field, but that value must be contained in a register and it's pointer used as the destination.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Paul Baker
    Propeller Applications Engineer

Parallax, Inc.