Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
prop1 to control a VFD tube — Parallax Forums

prop1 to control a VFD tube

NNNNNNNN Posts: 3
edited 2007-04-03 22:37 in Propeller 1
I have some old school vfd tubes... I also have a prop-1 chip, and I'm trying to figure out how to use it to control a number of tubes, maybe to do scrolling text or something like that. All I can think though is to use the 8 outputs to control 8 segments of one tube, but each tube has 16 segments (each lead coming off corresponds to a segment to light individually. Is there a more economical way? There's some french guy on the internet that's done it, but he's using a maxim ic driver and a 32 pin flash memory chip....and some other stuff. Not that I wouldn't be opposed to doing it that way, but I'm totally new to all this and wouldn't know how to put it all together. Any ideas?

thanks!

1.jpg

Comments

• rjo_rjo_ Posts: 1,825
    edited 2007-04-02 06:32
    NNNM

Well, you are on the right track. As far as I know there are no Propellers in France.

I am a theory guy... when it comes to practical issues, I frequently ruin things. I think you are going to want to know what happens when you put 3.3 volts across any of those leads.
    Then I think you are going to want to use a multiplexer... you will have to choose that before you can ask for any real help. Then you are going to need a circuit design of some sort so that the engineers don't blow a gasket. And then you should relate the whole thing to global warming to get the political support you deserve, but probably won't get without a little pandering.

None of this is intended to be sarcastic... if it sounds that way... it isn't.

I do try to entertain the guys at Parallax... but I wouldn't do it at your expense.

As you go along... please remember that there are a lot of people here who are trying to learn just as you are... such is me. And we would really like to get the full story and see all of the essentials.

Rich