Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
NES Controller Interface with debug button press display — Parallax Forums

NES Controller Interface with debug button press display

Oper8r AlOper8r Al Posts: 98
edited 2007-07-06 05:16 in Robotics
I remember reading some post a while back about people want to interface an NES controller with a basic stamp. I did some research on the net and thought that it might be something that I would be able to do. Well here is the program that I came up with. It is based on the IrRemoteButtonDisplay in the IR Remote AppKit. It may not be the best way to do it but I was just happy that I got it work. If you wanted to it would be very easy to modify it to control a boe-bot. I hope it works for anyone who tries it. Any suggestions or corrections are encouraged. The connection to the NES controller is included in the program description.

Alan


Updated program file

Post Edited (Oper8r Al) : 4/2/2007 4:06:25 AM GMT

Comments

  • dbc1218dbc1218 Posts: 33
    edited 2007-04-02 02:58
    I think this was that original post http://forums.parallax.com/showthread.php?p=588190 I wrote some code to work with a SNES controller but could never get it to work right. It could only ever read one button at a time. Maybe if I use a resistor on the data line like you suggested in the code it would work.
  • Oper8r AlOper8r Al Posts: 98
    edited 2007-04-02 03:26
    dbc1218,

    I don't have a SNES controller but from what I can tell the only difference is you need to get sixteen bits of data from that controller compared to the eight bits the NES controller sends. Here is a link for the web page I used. http://pinouts.ru/Game/snescontroller_pinout.shtml. Hope this helps.

    Alan

    Actually the resistor should have been on the latch and clock line but I wrote it backwards in the program description. I will try to fix it.

    Fixed the description in the original program and changed the first post.

    Post Edited (Oper8r Al) : 4/2/2007 4:07:29 AM GMT
  • Zsy6Zsy6 Posts: 37
    edited 2007-04-23 11:49
    That was me!
    Can I use this script for my boe-bot?
    I personally, didn't have enough experience to do something like this myself...
  • Oper8r AlOper8r Al Posts: 98
    edited 2007-04-30 02:06
    This should work on your Boe bot. All you would have to do is add in the servo controls to the case select. Check out the IR remote for the Boe bot And that should give a good idea of how to do it. I am not the most experienced with programming but If you need help I would be glad to do what I can·help you out.· If you want you can post what you've got here or PM or E-mail me.



    Al


    Post Edited (Oper8r Al) : 4/30/2007 4:52:09 AM GMT
  • RinksCustomsRinksCustoms Posts: 531
    edited 2007-07-06 05:16
    HYDRA Chapter 6 Teaser, THIS should be the only pinout you should be using for the NES/SNES controllers, so get your Adobe reader (which is free) and get reading, it explains alot... happy tinkering!

    P.E. - You may want to replace the 4000 series chip in the controller with a new one, if you already havent, it may be cooked due to probably getting hooked up in reverse bias (backward power). For alot of chips even 2 seconds in reverse bias usually spells d-o-n-e.



    Keep at it, the microcontroller is the way to go, you'll find out that writing some code to mimic the IC chips functions is quite alot easier and faster than the ol school approach of a few IC chips and a ratnest of jumper wires to make 2 leds double blink like cop cars, lol

    And moving over to the Propeller chip will be pretty easy. At a basic level, it can interface with a mouse, keyboard, and draw graphics to a TV or VGA·computer monitor.

    ▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Definetly a E3 (Electronics Engineer Extrodinare!)
    "I laugh in the face of imposible,... not because i know it all, ... but because I don't know well enough!"


    Post Edited (RinksCustoms) : 7/6/2007 5:35:49 AM GMT
Sign In or Register to comment.