Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Acceleration - mathematics and equipment advice — Parallax Forums

Acceleration - mathematics and equipment advice

NyerosNyeros Posts: 2
edited 2007-04-17 05:16 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hello all,

I'm currently studying at University, and need some advice.

I am looking to measure the acceleration of a large (7 tonne) unit during a drop test (of around 10mm), and I've been told the acceleration will be less than 1g (9.81 m/s^2). However I'm not sure what the best equipment would be to measure this acceleration (very limited knowledge of accelerometers etc).

Also, I am interested in the mathematics behind this, so if anyone can point me in the right direction of the calculations required it would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Martin HebelMartin Hebel Posts: 1,239
    edited 2007-03-27 19:03
    Here's an accelerometer Parallax offers, with sample code to read the acceleration.
    http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=28026

A possibility to send the data wirelessly as it falls using Xbee's or other RF units.

As far as the math... what were you looking for? Anything in freefall (on earth) will fall at a rate of 1g (9.8m/s), but drag and other factors will cause it to be less.

-Martin

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    StampPlot - GUI and Plotting, and XBee Wireless Adapters
    Southern Illinois University Carbondale, Electronic Systems Technologies
  • PARPAR Posts: 285
    edited 2007-03-28 01:41
    Nyeros said...
    Hello all,

I'm currently studying at University, and need some advice.

I am looking to measure the acceleration of a large (7 tonne) unit during a drop test (of around 10mm), and I've been told the acceleration will be less than 1g (9.81 m/s^2). However I'm not sure what the best equipment would be to measure this acceleration (very limited knowledge of accelerometers etc).