Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Transistors and LEDs — Parallax Forums

Transistors and LEDs

ProfessorwizProfessorwiz Posts: 153
edited 2007-03-23 15:47 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hello all,
I'm pretty new to electronics and the basic stamp.· I'm taking a college course on the subject, the only prereq on the class was beginning algebra and basic programming.· I wish they would have had DC electronics included in the prereq he doesn't go into much detail on the electronic portion of it.

I am hitting a brain stumbling block.· I'm looking at this schematic and I understand the transistor is acting like a valve opening the current for the Led so that the VDD goes though the led and the transistor to the ground, but I thought you always used a resistor tied to an LED going to the VDD.· In the 2nd page (P267), it shows the p8 going though a parallel configuration of resistors turning the transistor on and off.· Wouldn't the full 5V of the Vdd go though the LED?!?

Any help would be appriciated, I just can't seem to really get why this would happen, other than the 2 resistors are still limiting the flow enough, but that doesn't seem right to me.

Russ·

Comments

• LSBLSB Posts: 175
    edited 2007-03-23 12:42
    Professor,
    Kind of you to list the page number, but what book are you referring to?

Typically a resistor is placed in series with an LED to limit current. There are cases where this resistor is provided internally or isn't needed--for example: if some other component provides resistance ...or perhaps the diagram is in error.

Try the circuit WITH a resistor, if the LED is dim, remove it.
  • ProfessorwizProfessorwiz Posts: 153
    edited 2007-03-23 12:51
    It's in the What's a Microcontroller manual - students guide.· I've attached the 2 pages as PDF here.
  • allanlane5allanlane5 Posts: 3,815
    edited 2007-03-23 12:56
    Yes, DC electronics would have been helpful. There's an equation you need.