Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Propeller's Daughter — Parallax Forums

Propeller's Daughter

rjo_rjo_ Posts: 1,825
edited 2007-03-23 09:51 in Propeller 1
Hi guys,

I was wondering if it would make sense for the experienced guys to get together and come up with a standarized form factor for a daughter card...

What inspires this question is the following:

1. I think I've said it before... but I'm a retired eye doctor and I used to keep track of all the ways people found to blind themselves. Soldering irons wasn't one of them, and I don't want to be the first.

2. Everytime I see a neat circuit on this forum together with an historic little spin program... I want it immediately, but I don't want to hurt myself.

I think there could be a cottage industry for the right chip minded group of co-conspirators.

What do you say?

Rich

Comments

• JamesxJamesx Posts: 132
    edited 2007-03-22 15:17
    rjo_

Nothing against daughterboards, but soldering irons aren't that bad. I kind of enjoy using them, actually. As a doc, I've also seen lots of (dumb) ways to break, burn, crush and slice one's self. But besides occasionally picking up the wrong end of the iron, it's pretty hard to hurt yourself with one.

Jim C
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-03-22 15:20
    Two suggestions:

1) Get a solderless breadboard ... like the one used in the Propeller Education Kit. With few exceptions (like the Propeller A/D conversion bit) it works fine. Parallax sells them separately, even sells precut and stripped wires.

2) Make up a soldering station with ventilation if you want and use goggles or safety glasses

It's really hard to come up with anything standardized when the uses are so varied.
  • Graham StablerGraham Stabler Posts: 2,507
    edited 2007-03-22 16:43