Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
CRC16 routine problem — Parallax Forums

CRC16 routine problem

Damien AllenDamien Allen Posts: 103
edited 2007-03-19 19:36 in Propeller 1
Hi, i'm new to the prop and programming in general and i've been trying to write a modbus slave object in spin and i'm having trouble generating a correct crc.
I've attached my routine with the test i've been using, it must be something simple. Please can someone point me in the right direction or if i'm re-inventing the wheel as regards the to CRC or modbus object please point me in the direction of that also.

Many thanks

Damo

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-03-17 16:11
    For a start, please reread the description of the REPEAT statement in the manual. For example, you wrote "repeat i from i==start to i<bytecnt". That should be "repeat i from 0 to bytecnt-1". Your other statement was "repeat j from j==1 to j=<8" and should be "repeat j from 1 to 8". Beyond that, your crc routine could be a lot simpler, but try it with these changes.
  • Damien AllenDamien Allen Posts: 103
    edited 2007-03-17 16:12
    cheers mike i'll try that

Edit: that worked!

Post Edited (Damien Allen) : 3/17/2007 4:18:10 PM GMT
    edited 2007-03-17 16:19
    Mike, when you said that it could be a lot simpler, what did you mean? we you referring to the table lookup method?
    I want the routine to be fast but I am even less proficient in ASM as I am in spin so that is a no-go for me.

This routine is for modbus messages so i hope it is fast enough.
  • Jeff MartinJeff Martin Posts: 755
    edited 2007-03-17 20:02
    Damien,

I'm curious, there are a few different forms of CRC16... is this really CRC16-CCITT?

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    --Jeff Martin

· Sr. Software Engineer
    · Parallax, Inc.
    edited 2007-03-17 21:29
    Damien,