Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
robotics kit? — Parallax Forums

robotics kit?

xtricityxtricity Posts: 25
edited 2008-02-15 17:05 in Propeller 1
Are there any robotics kits that use the propeller chip?

I read through the 1337 robot information here.
http://www.parallax.com/propeller/custapps/app_1337bot.asp

What got my attention was the article on the crustcrawler in Nuts and Volts mag.

http://crustcrawler.com/articles/NnVaug2005.php

Here's the interesting line.
"With all that empty space between components, maybe this is the time to play with distributed processing and some sort of bus architecture, one computer for each leg, and one for the head. "

Is the Propeller a good chip for robotics? I know that it's great for video processing. I have no experience with the Propeller. I would like to learn more about it from a kit.

I am currently learning about the sx28 by programming it with assembly. This is fun. At some point in the coming months, I will move on to projects that interact more with the physical world, probably with a quad or hex crawler. I've consider the AVR. This seems to be popular for robotics. I've had a lot of fun with Parallax kits and like the clear style that they have.

Comments

• statemachinestatemachine Posts: 24
    edited 2007-03-17 01:18
    The Prop is a whole new game.I would say that it is much easier to use for robotics than the AVR.The support here is second to none. Bry.

Post Edited (statemachine) : 3/17/2007 1:22:46 AM GMT
  • ForrestForrest Posts: 1,341
    edited 2007-03-17 01:45
    How about 28 Servo's running off a single Propeller chip - check this out www.wulfden.org/PRC/index.shtml
    smile.gif
  • OzStampOzStamp Posts: 377
    edited 2007-03-17 02:18
    Hi Xtricty

The Propeller Demoboard is a good platform to get started with Robotics.
    Is there a better chip available for Robotics ... NO NO NO
    Its ability to do multiple tasks SIMALTANEOUSLY is still creepy when experienced..