Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Simple circuit question — Parallax Forums

Simple circuit question

RonMRonM Posts: 8
edited 2007-04-13 19:25 in Learn with BlocklyProp
I am not sure if this forum is for questions like this so forgive me if it is not. I am new to the Stamp and to electronics as well.
Making my way through the WAM book, I am still confused on the point of current flow with respect to the boards and use of a battery.
Page 44 in WAM shows current flowing from the batteries negative terminal thru an LED then thru a resistor to the batteries positive terminal.
I wonder if someone can straighten me out on this. I'm looking for clarity.

1. When using a battery (DC), current flows from negative terminal thru the circuit to the positive terminal. True?
2. Given the pic on page 44, why is the resistor after the LED in the circuit and not before - the arrows show flow from - to + battery terminals?
3. If the current is flowing from the batteries - terminal thru the LED, why is it flowing through the LED cathode and not the anode?
4. This is another confusing point. The WAM refers to Vdd as the same as the batteries + (albeit regulated) terminal and Vss as the same as the batteries - terminal. Given this,
why is the flow of current from Vdd to Vss in a circuit using the parallax boards?

As you can imagine, I'm learning this on my own.

I'm looking in the printed WAM but the online version is the same.

Thanks,
Ron
·

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-03-17 00:09
    Ron,
    1) The issue of which way does the current flow is actually more complicated than you think. Electrons flow out of the negative terminal of the battery and into the positive terminal, but historically current is considered to flow from the positive terminal to the negative terminal. Go figure!

2) Current flows through the LED, then the resistor. The circuit functions the same when the resistor is "closer" to the battery. Th
  • RonMRonM Posts: 8