Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
trying to design a pressure sensitive hand — Parallax Forums

trying to design a pressure sensitive hand

UlrichUlrich Posts: 11
edited 2007-03-25 00:31 in Learn with BlocklyProp
I'm a student at San Jose State University in San Jose, CA studying electrical engineering. I'm interested in a senior project that involves an artificial hand that can sense pressure and respond with an equal amount of pressure, ie sense a handshake and return a handshake with equal amount of squeezing. Would you have any ideas as to what might be the best sensor for something like this? Thank you for anything you might be able to help me with. Ulrich

Comments

• boeboyboeboy Posts: 301
    edited 2007-03-13 18:35
    this should work http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=30056 ·you will need a ADC (Analog to Digital converter) such as this http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=ADC0831 and this might work http://www.parallax.com/detail.asp?product_id=604-00038

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    lets see what this does... KA BOOM (note to self do not cross red and black)
  • UlrichUlrich Posts: 11
    edited 2007-03-13 21:28
    Sounds good. Would you have any ideas as to what might be able to be used for "returning" the pressure? Also, this project might be too big for a senior project, since we only have from now until next Dec. to come up with a finished prototype. Do you think this is too ambitious of a project for such a short period of time? Thank you for your input. Ulrich
  • boeboyboeboy Posts: 301
    edited 2007-03-13 23:26
    Well, you could use a servo and some piano wire to make the hand close.· The voltage coming out of the pressure sensor would make the servo go to a different position.· And it might be to ambitious for such a short time but that depends on your resources and on your talent level.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    lets see what this does... KA BOOM (note to self do not cross red and black)
  • PARPAR Posts: 285