Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
I2C Questions — Parallax Forums

I2C Questions

crgwbrcrgwbr Posts: 614
edited 2007-03-11 01:13 in Propeller 1
I'm trying to write to an eeprom with Mike Green's Minimal I2C routines (I know there are several thread's about this, my question is different though).· Basically, I have never used I2C before, and am quite confused about many of the terms.· In the "I2Cwritepage" routine the following terms are used; i2cSCL, i2cAddr, addrReg, dataPtr, and count.· Can someone post a definition of these terms?··In fact, just explaining I2C would be great.

Thanks,
Craig

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
NerdMaster
For
Life

Comments

• Peter JakackiPeter Jakacki Posts: 10,193
    edited 2007-03-10 02:55
    Craig,
    You only need to google "I2C specification" and you will find the information on the first link. The names of the routines should always be self-explanatory if you understand what needs to be achieved. Also download the datasheet on the eeprom so you can understand the writepage operation as well.

Take note that I2C is really a very simple protocol if you only consider it in the context of single master as it is generally used. Multiple master I2C is used where multiple micros may share the same I2C peripherals and need to be able to handle conflicts, but don't worry about that.

RTM RTM RTM

*Peter*
  • Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-03-10 04:44
    i2cSCL is the (even numbered) pin number where the SCL (serial clock) is connected. addrReg is the EEPROM address and consists of a 3 bit device address and a 16 bit address within the device (some devices use multiple device addresses). dataPtr is the address in main memory of the area containing the data, and count is the number of bytes to write.

i2cAddr I think I now call devSel and is the basic device select code (usually provided in the datasheet for the device). For EEPROMs, it's normally $A0.