Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
BOE with Javeline — Parallax Forums

BOE with Javeline

hacktorioushacktorious Posts: 72
edited 2007-02-22 18:35 in General Discussion
Forgive me if this has already been asked. I didn't find my answer in the forum so decided to ask. I am a newbie and have many questions, so please be nice....lol

Is it possible to use the Javelin on the Board of Education? I recently purchased the BOE-Bot kit to learn about microntrollers. I am a java software developer by trade and prefer to use an object oriented language when possible. I am considering getting a Javeline to use with my BOE if possible.

I am also considering a ZX-44/BX-24, and/or a propeller. There is so much info on the net about microcontrollers I am becoming overwhelmed. Any tips, comments, questions, concerns, arguments for or against these products is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

The Javeline already has one advantage because it uses Java. Thus, it is the front runner in my decision. I have also noticed some people have started porting the IDE to Linux.

I am planning several projects, the first being a navigating robot, with GPS, yada,yada,yada.................

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Scott

Comments

• Peter VerkaikPeter Verkaik Posts: 3,956
    edited 2007-02-21 21:34
    You can use the javelin on any parallax development board that
    has a DIP24 socket. That includes the board of education.

regards peter
  • hacktorioushacktorious Posts: 72
    edited 2007-02-21 23:02
    Excellent, that's what I figured, but I just wanted to double check. Thanks.....

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Scott
    edited 2007-02-22 13:43
    You may want to check out the JBot package which is a complete package
    for the javelin and the BoeBot.
    http://tech.groups.yahoo.com/group/JavelinCode/files/Javelin%20Stamp%20IDE/lib/JBot/
    Unfortunately, the manuals have no pictures (draft version) but the RoboticsTextv2.2
    does have the pictures, just with basic stamp.