Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Glorified data logging — Parallax Forums

Glorified data logging

Sgt. ZimSgt. Zim Posts: 3
edited 2007-02-18 14:02 in BASIC Stamp
Wow, my first post here. blush.gif

Preliminaries: I hate stupid questions, so I hope that these aren't ... Stupid, that is. Secondly, I'm new to digital electronics and microcontrollers; I'm a software guy, my hardware experience is routers and switches, and pulling cable. That said, I've worked through the What is a Microcontroller book, and I think I have most of what I need to do worked out, but I have some detail questions, and a high-level question. So, the big question first: Is this going to be more complex than I think, or is this a workable project for educating myself in this stuff?

On to my project. Here's a basic requirements doc I've written for myself. (No, this is not a homework assignment).
I said...
Problem: Create a shot timer/counter capable of recording each shot in a string of fire, and its time differential from the start.

The timer should be operated mainly by means of a "start" button; pressing the "start" button should sound the start signal (a buzzer) and begin timing. At each shot, the display should be updated with the shot number and total time of the last shot. Shots should be timed to 10ms (0.01 second). Shots are "counted" by means of an audio input (the sound of the shot).

Additional features with later versions should include, but not be limited to: shot review (including "replaying" a string, splits, 1st shot time), adjustable start signal delay, adjustable microphone gain, echo/bounce adjustability (for confined ranges). Date/Time, battery condition and auto power-off are considered desirable but far from necessary.