Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
SX Programming and interface questions — Parallax Forums

SX Programming and interface questions

T'SaavikT'Saavik Posts: 60
edited 2007-02-16 19:13 in General Discussion
Hey all! Not only am i a noob to the SX series, i'm a noob to micro controllers in general! be warned!

A good friend gave me a sx programmer and a bunch of sx28 chips on little cards. I have alot of info about it here:
www.hellspark.com/dm/ebench/sx/howto.html

The pinout is as follows:
sxpinout-dave.jpg

I hooked the positive terminals of a 11-led "bar graph" display to the entire right side (all of RC and RB5-7). I connected their negative terminals all together to a single resistor then to ground.To make sure it worked i hacked up the "pause.sxb" example program and made a little "cylon" style flasher, it worked perfectly!

I figured since i can't use the debugger these leds would be handy for trying to diag problems in the future. I could re-use this chip for different projects and have the 11 leds for handy diags (or just fancy heartbeats atleast, lol).

I then marched merrily forward with my first REAL project, a little explorer robot. I am getting some weirdness! Every time i power up the chip different LEDs light. Even 2 that should NEVER light (rc.7 and rc.6)!. i don't have ANYTHING plugged into the chip other then the bar graph diag and power. The motor controller and ir emitter/detector are not connected. i DO have a 9v battery driven 5v regulated power supply with .1uf ceramic, 10uf tantalum as close to the chip's power as i can.

I'll attach the code here, i would appreciate ANY constructive comments, PLEASE don't flame me too hard, I'm a noob and need nurturing. I know the code is VERY lame, i should use functions, i should use more constants, but I'm trying to get it working before i make it pretty, don't worry, i WILL make it prettier it was hard to resist.

Post Edited By Moderator (Chris Savage (Parallax)) : 2/15/2007 11:09:47 PM GMT