Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Vinculum Speed ? - Page 2 — Parallax Forums

Vinculum Speed ?

Comments

• BTXBTX Posts: 674
    edited 2007-04-03 16:14
    Rokicki.
    Thanks so much for your interest and help in this... and thanks for the piece of code too. Like I say...I'm not an academic programmer, but I'll learn more with these simple examples.

I get 11K with the piece of code that I wrote above, and about 21K avoiding the rxf check, although it's not correct, sometimes it work.
    I did a check too, of how time takes the spin code by itself (instructions time), and it seems, that almost all the time, is consumed by the spin code.
    But, like I don't know, which is the maximun time for the VDIP, to get one byte of data out, I think to do that piece of code in assembler, and try to check, if in many tries if I get the same result of the data read.
    VDIP datasheet talk about 50nSec minimun pulse for RD# pin, adding all delays I calculate about 5.5Mb/sec (ideal, and maximun contitions), like I only need about 700k/sec, I think ..perhaps..it will work. I don't now too, the time that the VDIP micro, needs for manage the FAT table of the disk, and also the disk hardware speed.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Regards.

Alberto.
  • Graham StablerGraham Stabler Posts: 2,507
    edited 2007-04-03 19:16
    Alberto,

I have wired up my dip module to have a go with it and perhaps join you in doing the assembly.

At the moment it does not seem to be working all communcations are returning ************************

I have wired it up as per your code and the datasheet, is there something I could be missing? Do you have a file on your thumbdrive you are reading, is is b.btx or btx.b or something?

Cheers,

Graham
    edited 2007-04-03 20:30
    Hi Graham.
    I have a USB drive with the following, A.btx, B.btx, C.btx, A <DIR> (3 files plus a A directory).
    I'm using only one of them to read...the B.btx in my code.