Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
WAM - Standard Servo Control Understanding — Parallax Forums

WAM - Standard Servo Control Understanding

hacktorioushacktorious Posts: 72
edited 2007-02-13 22:06 in Learn with BlocklyProp
Hello,

I am new to microcontrollers/PBasic and am having difficulty understanding the code below. This code is in the WAM document on page 132-133 (p.143, as far as finding it with acrobat reader find function). The part I am not comprehending is exactly what is causing the motor to rotate CCW, and/or CW. Maybe I missed something in the reading, I don't know, but whatever the reason I was hoping someone in this forum could help.

At first I thought it had something to do with the value being above, or below the center value for the servo (750), but that doesn't seem to be the case. To me it appears the direction of the motor is dependent on whether a value (25) is "subtracted", or "added" to the duration of the PULSOUT command. Is this correct, or am I missing something here? Thanks. [noparse]:)[/noparse]

' What's a Microcontroller - ServoControlWithPushbuttons.bs2
' Press and hold P4 pushbutton to rotate the servo counterclockwise,
' or press the pushbutton connected to P3 to rotate the servo clockwise.

' {$STAMP BS2}
' {$PBASIC 2.5}

duration VAR Word
duration = 750

DO
IF IN3 = 1 THEN
IF duration > 500 THEN
duration = duration - 25
ENDIF
ENDIF

IF IN4 = 1 THEN
IF duration < 1000 THEN
duration = duration + 25
ENDIF
ENDIF

PULSOUT 14, duration

PAUSE 10

DEBUG HOME, DEC4 duration, " = duration"

LOOP

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
Scott

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-02-13 01:53