Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Need help with a variety of issues — Parallax Forums

Need help with a variety of issues

Kurt FinnieKurt Finnie Posts: 21
edited 2007-02-09 18:45 in Propeller 1
I'm very new to this but I have put together a basic application of timed light and horn sequences.
I'd like to get this from the development board to 12 volt, 100 watt halogen lights and auto horns.
What relays would be appropriate?

My pub performs a variety of light functions based on the value of a variable which is currently written into the pub.
Next, I'd like to press a keyboard key to select the function.
Later, I'd like to press a key on a radio frequency transmitter to select the function.

I'd also like to write the contents of an ascii file, letter by letter for a timed period, to a single led display.
Eventually, that led will be several feet tall.

I'm sure most of these items are real simple but I just need some guidance to get me headed in the right direction.

Thanks,

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-02-08 15:41
    Look at the keyboard driver and matching demo that's installed with the Propeller Tool.

Look at various on-line electronics catalogs (like Jameco, Digikey, or Mouser) for relays that can handle the voltage and current you want to use.
    Read the "What's a Microcontroller?" tutorial downloadable from the Parallax website for information on controlling relays. This is written
    for a Stamp, but the same things apply to the Propeller, particularly regarding controlling relays. Jameco may have some little RF
    transmitter/receivers for remote control that may be applicable.

There have been some threads here on controlling LED displays with a Propeller. Have a look at what's been discussed before. Use
    the Google search engine specific to Parallax (search.parallax.com).
  • Ym2413aYm2413a Posts: 630
    edited 2007-02-08 15:47
    For the relays, I would use a Transistor switch to drive each Relay.