Shop OBEX P1 Docs P2 Docs Learn Events
Highest resolution possible with HYDRA — Parallax Forums

Highest resolution possible with HYDRA

cyber-flyercyber-flyer Posts: 4
edited 2007-02-09 01:17 in Propeller 1
I am a newbie to the chip and to this forum. But I've done fair amount of embedded programming with LPC2138 chip and now considering Propeller chip for a graphics app where text and some graphics need to be overlayed over video signal (OSD). A question to experts: what's the highest resolution possible with the chip. I.e. if RAM size is not a problem, is it possible to drive XGA (800x600) display with it? What about 600 horizontal pixels in NTSC?
Thanks!

Comments

• Mike GreenMike Green Posts: 23,101
    edited 2007-02-08 02:58
    There have been text drivers posted that can produce 1600 x 1200 pixels. I believe they tie up 6 of the 8 cogs in doing so. There's not enough memory for a bitmap that large, so no graphics drivers have been tried at that resolution. Chip posted a tiled driver with a 1024 x 768 pixel resolution that can handle mixed text and graphics, takes only 2 cogs for the VGA and a separate cog if you want an overlaid cursor.

NTSC is a different matter. The limitations there are in the video format. You can't realistically get 600 horizontal pixels and only 225-240 vertical lines.
  • cyber-flyercyber-flyer Posts: 4
    edited 2007-02-08 14:39
    1600x1200 - wow! That's 115 Mhz pixel rate, assuming 60 Hz refresh. Does it mean that Propeller·can draw·to the screen faster than the CPU clock? It's impressive even if it takes all the cogs to do it.
  • BeanBean Posts: 8,129
    edited 2007-02-08 15:24
    cyber-flyer,
    · There is some NTSC OSD code I wrote in the Propeller object exchange.
    · http://ww1.parallax.com/Default.aspx?tabid=65
    · It's the very last one "Video Overlay 256x192 pixels"
    ·

Bean.

▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔▔
    Cheap used 4-digit LED display with driver IC·www.hc4led.com